Soul Finger #4

I was more than pleased to play a couple of slots at last week’s fourth instalment of Soul Finger at the Cumberland Arms, alongside Ethan McDermott and Rob Heron. The usual mix of northern, rhythm and blues, some mod gems and the like. A few people asked if I’d recorded it – like I’m that organised! – but I have recreated it.

A few points: I played two sets, but I’ve joined them into one here; while I know what I played, I can’t remember the order, so this isn’t entirely representative; I’ve left out a couple of tunes that just didn’t work as well as I’d hoped; and since I don’t have my decks set up  in the same room at home, this is a digital recreation of a vinyl set. But hey, tunes are tunes, right?

stagger lee at soul finger #4

Here’s what I played:

  1. Darondo – How I Got Over
  2. Rex Garvin – Sock It To Em JB (Pt 1)
  3. The Wheels – Clap Your Hands  (Pt 1)
  4. Jimmy Delphs – Dancing A Hole In the World
  5. The Sapphires – The Slow Fizz
  6. Bobbi Lynn – Opportunity Street
  7. Damon Fox – Packing Up
  8. Betty Moorer – Speed Up
  9. The Dells – Thinkin’ About You
  10. Evie Sands – Picture Me Gone
  11. The Minits – Still A Part Of Me
  12. Inez Foxx – You Hurt Me For The Last Time
  13. BW Souls – Marvin’s Groove
  14. Bill Doggett – Honky Tonk
  15. Googie Rene Combo – Smokey Joe’s La La
  16. Fred Williams – The Dance Got Old
  17. Nappy Brown – Skidy Woe
  18. Mike Pedecin – Burnt Toast And Black Coffee
  19. Irma Thomas – Don’t Mess With My Man
  20. Ike And Tina Turner – A Fool In Love
  21. Little Willie John – Home At Last
  22. Dionne Warwick – You Can Have Him
  23. Jackie Lee – The Duck
  24. Jackie Lee – The Shotgun And The Duck
  25. Marsha Gee – Peanut Duck
  26. Banny Price – You Love Me Pretty Baby
  27. Tony Tyrone – Please Operator
  28. Ann Sexton – It’s All Over But The Shouting
  29. Showstoppers – Ain’t Nothing But A House Party
  30. The Five Stairsteps – Playgirl’s Love
  31. Eddie Carlton – It Will Be Done
  32. Garnett Mimms – All About Love
  33. Jimmy Delphs – Almost

 

middle

